My Thoughts On: Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

31931941.jpg


Title: 
Eliza and Her Monsters
Author: Francesca Zappia
Series: N/A
Genre: Contemporary
Rating: 4/5 Stars

 

Summary from Goodreads:

Her story is a phenomenon. Her life is a disaster.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, she’s LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves the online one, and she has no desire to try.

Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea’s biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and as he draws her out of her shell, she begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile.

But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

My Thoughts:

This book was one of those that I could have read in one sitting (if I hadn’t started it so late). I read about half of it in one sitting. There were so many things I loved about it but one of the things I loved the most was probably how I could relate to it.

I have a habit of getting super into things…fandoms, if you will. My most recent one, for example, is ACOTAR. I am/was obsessed…Like spent time looking at fan art and theories online. Sooooo….I could absolutely relate to the fandom that is Monstrous Seas. 

Then there is the anxiety portion of it. Eliza has social anxiety, which is something I can absolutely relate to. I am not as bad as Eliza, I can manage to go and hang out with people and be okay with it. However, I did spend one Halloween in college at home while all my housemates when to a party. And I have been known to cancel plans or just say no because I am more comfortable at home. I loved seeing a character that I could relate to in that aspect. It was a comfort to know that I am not alone.

Eliza and Wallace’s relationship is so adorable and real. I love how they are both imperfect characters with completely honest intentions. While they don’t make the best decisions, you can see where they are coming from and I love how broken they are and you get to see how they grow together.

I also liked how Eliza’s relationship with her parents was portrayed. Growing up with the internet, I can relate to parents not understanding that you have friends on the internet that you haven’t met yet. Parents sometimes just do not get it. They don’t understand how you can have an entire life online and it is just as real as the one you live in everyday.

Overall, I think this book is solid gold and am so happy I received it in my Owlcrate box. I probably would not have picked it up otherwise.

Thank you for reading!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

