Down the TBR Hole #4

Hello all! Thanks for coming to see what books I may or may not keep on my TBR!

This was started by Lia from Lost In A Story and instructions are:

Anyway, it works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

The fact that I (you?) will be repeating this process every week means that I have to keep track of where I ended and where I’m going to continue. E.g. in week one I do book 1 – 5, in week two book 6 – 10, and so on, until I’ve filtered out my entire TBR.

 

My TBR Selections for this week are…

12476820

Partials by Dan Wells
Honestly, I feel like I have read this before and I don’t see myself picking it up over some others.

Final Verdict: It goes

17701160

Aberrant by Ruth Silver
This sounds very similar to Delirium by Lauren Oliver, which I really enjoyed but I am not sure I want to read it again.

Final Verdict: It goes

17399160

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch
I am just not sure about this one. It sounds like the plot line could be similar to that of the Falling Kingdoms series. However, my library has this on the audio book app so I will leave it and give it a shot one day.

Final Verdict: It stays

5470

1984 by George Orwell
I have read listened to most of this book. I own a copy and have full intentions of finishing it. I suppose until I do finish it, it will stay on my list.

Final Verdict: It stays

2657

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
I know I should be ashamed I haven’t read this yet. But in all fairness, most people read it in school and my classes just didn’t. I have a copy on my shelf and have all intentions of reading it.

Final Verdict: It stays

18133

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
I have never read anything quite like this and I think one day I will reach for it…it just might take a specific mood.

Final Verdict: It stays

38447

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
I know this has been made into a series and I have no intentions of watching it. I am interested in the book because it was recommended by a friend that I trust.

Final Verdict: It stays

5129

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
Judging strictly by the summary, I think this has potential to make me view life differently. I want to give it a try.

Final Verdict: It stays

343

Perfume by Patrick Suskind
I am just not sure this one is for me. While I don’t mind killing and murders in the midst of other things, I don’t know if I am ready for a book all about it. I am going to take this off the list, but keep it in the back of my mind in case I one day I want to try a murder book.

Final Verdict: It goes. 

2815590

Serena by Ron Rash
I am on the fence about this one. I really am intrigued by power hungry, ruthless female characters. BUT the reviews mention cruelty to animals and I am not sure I would be able to handle that. I tried to read Traveller by Richard Adams once and I couldn’t get past the first few pages because of the suffering for the horse. I guess I will leave it. I can always stop reading if I can’t handle it.

Final Verdict: It stays. 

 

Let me know your thoughts if you have read any of these!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

