Down the TBR Hole #3

And here’s to another day of tackling my TBR!

I think I am going to bump up my selections to 10. My Goodreads TBR is currently at 184 and while that is tiny compared to other’s…I think I can get it down rather quickly to where I could realistically read everything! I feel like a TBR should be a list of books you actually intend to read, not just every book that looks interesting. I am the type of person where I will get overwhelmed if my TBR is outrageous…but that is just me.

This was started by Lia from Lost In A Story and instructions are:

Anyway, it works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

The fact that I (you?) will be repeating this process every week means that I have to keep track of where I ended and where I’m going to continue. E.g. in week one I do book 1 – 5, in week two book 6 – 10, and so on, until I’ve filtered out my entire TBR.

 

My TBR Selections for this week are…

18528190

Men Explain Things to Me by Rebecca Solnit
After rereading this description of this, I am not really sure this is what I originally thought it was going to be. I am just not sure I will actually pick this up any time soon.

Final Verdict: It goes. 

13514612

All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill
I am not really sure I understand exactly how this book is supposed to work. But the last time I thought that, I really enjoyed the book. Also, it is a stand alone and I don’t have a tone of those.

Final Verdict: It Stays! 

18135913

Veiled Innocence by Ella Frank
The blurb was so vague, so I resorted to reading some of the reviews. It turns out that it is a student/teacher novel…not my thing.

Final Verdict: It goes

18105451

Frostfire by Amanda Hocking
Part of me feels like I have read something like this before, but part of me doesn’t. I haven’t read any books about trolls.

Final Verdict: It stays (for now)

11737311

The Treachery of Beautiful Things by Ruth Frances Long
This sounds so intriguing. And the fact that the first line of the blurb has “dark” in it has me sold. I am a sucker for darker stories. I think I might have to give this one a try.

Final Verdict: It Stays

8835379

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier
I’ve never read a time traveling book and I’m a little apprehensive about them. The reviews say that this one is more on the immature side, so I think I am going to have to pass.

Final Verdict: It goes

20348781

Loving Mr. Daniels by Brittainy C. Cherry
Another student/teacher romance novel…not my thing.

Final Verdict: It goes

16225157

Rapunzel Untangled by Cindy C. Bennett
Ehh….I just feel like there are other retellings that I might like better and I honestly don’t know if I will ever really read it.

Final Verdict: It goes. 

25831407

Wool by Hugh Howey
A coworker of mine told me about this and I trust her.

Final Verdict: It stays

21799202

The V Girl by Mya Robarts
I think this one could be really interesting. It has such a different twist on the usual post-apocalyptic stories I’ve read.

Final Verdict: It stays

 

That is a wrap for this post and I removed 5 books from my TBR.

Thanks for reading!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #3

  1. This is such an interesting concept! I went through my TBR a couple of months ago and cleared out heaps of books! Ruby Red is on my TBR, I’ve heard of Frostfire but it’s not on my TBR. I own Amanda Hocking’s Trylle series, if I end up enjoying those i’ll most likely want to read Frostfire!

    Liked by 1 person

    • My goal is to clear out a lot and get it down to a number I can realistically read. I can’t have a lot of books or I’ll get overwhelmed and frustrated. Silly I know. If you read Ruby Red and think it’s really good, let me know. I’m open to trying it if someone recommends it. I’ve never read anything by Amanda Hocking, but the whole forbidden love thing got my attention.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

