Stolen by Lucy Christopher – Review

stolen

Title: Stolen
Author: Lucy Christopher
Series: N/A
Genre: Contemporary, YA
Rating: 2/5 Stars

Summary from Goodreads:

It happened like this. I was stolen from an airport. Taken from everything I knew, everything I was used to. Taken to sand and heat, dirt and danger. And he expected me to love him.

This is my story.

A letter from nowhere. 

Sixteen year old Gemma is kidnapped from Bangkok airport and taken to the Australian Outback. This wild and desolate landscape becomes almost a character in the book, so vividly is it described. Ty, her captor, is no stereotype. He is young, fit and completely gorgeous. This new life in the wilderness has been years in the planning. He loves only her, wants only her. Under the hot glare of the Australian sun, cut off from the world outside, can the force of his love make Gemma love him back? 

The story takes the form of a letter, written by Gemma to Ty, reflecting on those strange and disturbing months in the outback. Months when the lines between love and obsession, and love and dependency, blur until they don’t exist – almost.

 

My thoughts:

I am not sure of my feelings about this book.

Honestly, I find it quite strange. Like how can someone make it through airport security with a drugged companion and not get questioned. And how can security cameras not catch this guy or track what flights he has been getting on. That just seems wildly unrealistic.

This was my first real experience reading a character driven novel. And I  am not sure this is for me. I am not sure that characters are enough to keep me loving a book. I continued listening to this because I was interested in finding out what happens and if she makes it back home, but I was not attached to the characters at all.

What grips me into a book is the plot twists, action, and situations. A good book for me is one that currently switches situations, like once one is resolved, then another erupts and propels me forward in to the story. Stolen just kind of felt stagnant for me.

Even though it is not my favorite. I do understand why people love it. I can see how Ty’s twisted mind and obsession with the land and preserving it and how that carries over into “saving” Gemma can be beautiful. But maybe I am to literal and objective for that. Or maybe I just need to read further outside my comfort zone and one day I will see it. But for right now, it just seems like Stockholm Syndrome.

Regardless, I don’t feel like I can give you a definite yes or no on my recommending it. I say, go with your gut and if it sounds like it intrigues you, give it a shot. I mean…a lot of people seem to love it.

xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

